Resident's Best Paper Award - Allan Martin and Daniel YavinThe Resident’s Best Paper Award award is awarded annually at the Canadian Spine Society’s Annual Scientific Conference. The winner is awarded a $500 prize, funded by the Canadian Spine Society. The winners are determined by the CSS Program Committee and one member at large as selected by the Program Committee Chair. All judges are members of the Canadian Spine Society.

2017 Resident’s Best Paper Award Winner

We had our first ever tie for this category! The two winners were:


Allan Martin for his paper The First Clinical Use of Quantitative Spinal Cord MRI: Serial Monitoring to Identify Disease Progression in Patients with Degenerative Cervical Myelopathy Managed Non-Operatively btn_download


Daniel Yavin for his paper Intrathecal Morphine Following Lumbar Fusion: A Placebo-Controlled Trial btn_download


Past Winners:

2016 – Dr. Allan R. Martin
Translating State-Of-The-Art Spinal Cord MRI Techniques To Clinical Use: A Systematic Review Of Clinical Studies Utilizing DTI, MT, MWF, MRS, and fMRI


2015 – Nathan Evaniew
Strategies to improve the credibility of meta-analyses in spine surgery: A systematic survey


2014 – Andrew Jack
Adjacent segment pathology: progressive disease course or a product of iatrogenic fusion?

2013 – Andrea Simmonds
Determining Stability in Degenerative Spondylolisthesis: A systematic review


2012 – Dr. Jeff Wilson
A Clinical Prediction Model for Long-Term Functional Outcome after Traumatic Spinal Cord Injury Based on Acute Clinical and Imaging Factors


2011 – Dr. Philippe Phan
The use of a decision tree based on the literature can efficiently output the levels of fusion alternatives in the surgical treatment of AIS

2010 – Dr. Mohammed Shamji
Treatment of Altered Sensation and Gait in Experimental Disc Herniation Radiculopathy by Local and Sustained Anticytokine Delivery.